Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I've always wanted to go hunting but between multiple marriages, having kids, and working never got the chance. Now I'm in a pla

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've always wanted to go hunting but between multiple marriages, having kids, and working never got the chance. Now I'm in a pla

I've always wanted to go hunting but between multiple marriages, having kids, and working never got the chance. Now I'm in a place in my life where I have the time but don't know where to start. My father was not an outdoorsman so I have no experience with guns and very little experience with archery except from high school. So where do I start?

I would suggest just hanging around a site like this. Read answers and stuff that interests you. If you are interested in say muzzleloading get a muzzleloader. Just do what you feel comfartable doing. I also reccomend subscribing to F&S and out door life, etc. Have fun!

Comment

find people who hunt-blogs like this are good-and don't be afraid to ask questions. it can be frustrating at first but keep at it. there are probably people on here from your area.

Comment

Take a hunters safety course. Learn to handle a firearm, then purchase the firearm of your choosing. Practice until you become proficient. Along the way people will most likely guide you into what you want to do.

Comment

Check out local gun and archery clubs and take a good hunter safety course. Act unsafe and people are not likely to invite you out again. Check out the state wildlife agency for the laws and seasons.

There are local sportsmen's websites out there (like, for where I live, michigan-sportsman.com), but you can spend a lot of money on bad advise so read and talk a lot before you do. If you are like many of us you'll end up with at least a couple of different rifles, shotguns, and bows before you know it.