Remember These

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Remember These

The box of Weatherby .300WbyMag is loaded with Nosler Partitions. I pulled a bullet to see the load. It is a 200gr Partition with 77gr of a rod shaped powder. Not sure what it is. COL is 2.815. Some old-timers may remember the old partitions that were turned on a lathe. You can feel the turning marks when you slide a fingernail down the side of the bullet. Roy developed the Partition in 1948 when a standard bullet failed on a Elk hunt he was on. I took a couple pictures to show the turn marks. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0322.JPG
Views:	191
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	708490Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0323.JPG
Views:	100
Size:	57.9 KB
ID:	708491Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0324.JPG
Views:	95
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	708492

I had been loading Sierra bullets for a couple of years before I discovered Nosler Partitions.
    Setting up for a trip to Colorado, I decided that the Nosler 160 gr was just the ticket for my .270 Win.
    Long story short, other than an accuracy check after the drive up, I didn't use them.
    Fast forward to east Texas whitetail season.
    The buck came left to right and I put a Nosler 160 gr Partition right behind the shoulder. He acted as if he had not been touched.
    The follow up shot through the trees ended up being a "Texas heart shot", right square through both hams! But it put him down!
    The first round had done the trick, but that heavy duty Partition bullet DID NOT open up on that 90 pound buck. It simply punched a .277 hole through both lungs and heart.
    The second round, also a pass through, left no indication of bullet expansion either!

I haven't used Nosler Partitions since.

IMNSHO, unless you're shooting those big Rockie Mtn mulies or larger, Partitions are a waste of time, money and energy.

Comment

Originally posted by FirstBubba View Post