Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Okay so I rode my bike out of town to a local creek and i'm only 12 so I was a little nervous because it was my first creek fish

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Okay so I rode my bike out of town to a local creek and i'm only 12 so I was a little nervous because it was my first creek fish

Okay so I rode my bike out of town to a local creek and i'm only 12 so I was a little nervous because it was my first creek fishing trip without my dad and i was fishing and I looked down and saw a bear track. I put my hand next to it and the track was bigger then my hand. There's no grizzlies in the U.P of Michigan. I have no experience tracking bears so I was wondering how big this bear might be. I measured it and it was 6 inches across and 4 inches from the back of the pad to the tip of the toe.

This is just a guess but I'd say in the 150/200 lb range.

Comment

6 inch wide front pad? This is a real beast. People that want a bear in the books look for tracks like this.

Comment

Small-ish Black Bear......

Comment

That sounds like a front foot. The back foot is longer than it is wide. IMS for each inch the front pad is wide the hide should square approximately 1 foot. Hence 6 inch track equals a 6 ft bear. That is a medium to fairly large sized black bear. Depending on area. In Northern AK that would be big. In Southern AK where they eat Salmon not so big.
          I found a grizzly track in a creekbed near Cantwell, AK once. My size 12 boot easily fit into his rear paw print.

Comment

I don't know Web, Next time bring your dad and a 357.

Comment

You add 1 to the front pad width in inches and you have what the bear squares. So this is about a 7 foot bear. A big one.

Comment