Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Earlier this year a got a bad shot on a doe (hit her in the brisket she lived) while tracking her I found tons and tons of trail

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Earlier this year a got a bad shot on a doe (hit her in the brisket she lived) while tracking her I found tons and tons of trail

Earlier this year a got a bad shot on a doe (hit her in the brisket she lived) while tracking her I found tons and tons of trails, really really heavy trails. I believe their bedding area is somewhere in between 4 diffrent fields. It's pretty much all think, pines, and some underbrush. I basically want to go into the woods in the middle of these 4 fields and clear out a decent sized area where I can plant somthing (preferably soybeans if that will work, I'm new to planting). The area has tons of deer sign and the place I've been looking at clearing out has big pines, and some underbrush. How do I clear this? Will this work? Any help will be greatly appreshated. -thanks, andrew

Don't mess with a good thing. If you clear that out they may just go find some other nice thick place like that for bedding, etc. Oh, what do I know. Have never hunted deer over bait ... and never will.

Comment

i think all you would successfully do is push deer off your place. they are there for a reason, cover. i cant think of any good reason to remove a bedding on your property.

Comment

JMO~~ fiend you a good spot and set-up two tree stands
        that sounds like a Deer Hunter Honey Spot.

Comment

As others have said, leave it alone and find some good stand sites for next year.

Comment

What the other guys said, but I would also scout out some stand locations and very slowly, trim out the shooting lanes in the best areas. So come next year, your ready.

Comment

if the deer are already there why mess with it?

Comment