Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

We all have the outdoors in common on here, regardless of political, religious, or moral standings. Who got you into your favori

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• We all have the outdoors in common on here, regardless of political, religious, or moral standings. Who got you into your favori

We all have the outdoors in common on here, regardless of political, religious, or moral standings. Who got you into your favorite outdoor addiction, and what is it? I started deer hunting with my father when I was 8. Two years before I could legally hunt I was 30 ft up in a pine tree with a Crossman pump BB gun. I now deer hunt regardless of weather or temperature and I owe it to my dad.

My dad too. Got my a HR 410 for my 9th birthday and that was it, hooked on the hunt for life. Served me well both in work and play. I have been a professional guide and a passionate outdoors man and now its passing on to my kids.

Comment

I started tagging along squirrel hunting with my Dad when I was 10. When I was 12 he asked me one day if I wanted to kill the squirrel. It was with a 12 ga. Iver Johnson. From then till I was 14 we shared the gun, alternating shots, we couldn't afford two guns, I guess that is why our bond was so deep, we spent so much time in the woods together. My Son used the Iver Johnson too. It sets in my gun safe today.

Comment

A friend loaned me a 30-40 Krag and a .44 cap and ball and taught me the skills of deer hunting.
        Another buddy had a dog and we got a lot of pheasant and rabbits. I tried it with the family poodle and she did the job o.k. but cleaning out the briars was a job. I used a Remington 11-48 shotgun and for deer a Winchester 30-30 (still have the Winchester)