Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ok you may remember my earlier question about fish finders. Any how, I took my fish finder out for the first time today in searc

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ok you may remember my earlier question about fish finders. Any how, I took my fish finder out for the first time today in searc

Ok you may remember my earlier question about fish finders. Any how, I took my fish finder out for the first time today in search of crappies. I have never used a fish finder before but did a little research and watched instructional videos. I dont understand quite how to use one. So say Im motoring along and see a brush pile. I stop to fish the brush pile with my boat totally stationary but the screen keeps on scrolling and soon I will loose my visual on the brush pile. Why is it doing this? am I doing something wrong? Also, tell me everything there is to know about using a fish finder. thanks.

On all the fish finders I have used, the scrolling represents time, rather than distance. Basically, if you are stationary over one spot, the screen does not show you what is happening below you in real time, like a video camera. Instead, it updates very slowly, scrolling the new information across your screen.

It is my guess that you missed the brush pile when you anchored, because your fish finder lags behind your boat. If you watched the fish finder until it showed the brush pile and then immediately dropped anchor, you missed the brush pile because of the lag in information.