Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm trying to trap some beavers to control property damage. Does anyone have any good tips for getting started? I'm new to sport

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm trying to trap some beavers to control property damage. Does anyone have any good tips for getting started? I'm new to sport

I'm trying to trap some beavers to control property damage. Does anyone have any good tips for getting started? I'm new to sport, and one can only learn so much from google and youtube.

find there "runs" under the water and where they enter there dam i like 330 coni's but some people use snares opps forgot footholds also you can make all kinds of set with foot holds for bait use popular if you have it other wise birch twigs also work some good sets as well as some books with sets are advertized in fur-fish-game magzine check it out

Comment

check out the links below. They provide good info as well as photos and drawings of how to make the sets.

http://www.ncwildlife.org/pg07_WildlifeSpeciesCon/pg7f1f1.htm

http://www.ngpc.state.ne.us/hunting/guides/furbearer/TM-beaver.asp

http://www.fishwildlife.org/Furbearer/Aug%202006%20BMPs/Beaver_rev6.pdf

http://www.npwrc.usgs.gov/resource/mammals/furtake/beaver.htm

Comment

I think the easiest and most efficient way is with conibear traps.

Comment

I'm with jay. I also trap on my friends land for controling them. Use a size 330 trap and if its legal, you an alter the dam. Tear out the dam just a little wider than the trap. Then get some sticks and set them up around the trap to make sure they won't go around. Most states say the the conibears have to be underwater but check your regulations.

Comment

We hired a trapper for our VT beavers once, but then I decided my Savage 1899 in .300 Savage and Winchester 94 in .32 Win.Spc. made for pretty good traps.

Comment