Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Click my name and check out the results of this morning's Turkey hunt. How do you find Morels? I only find a few now and then.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Click my name and check out the results of this morning's Turkey hunt. How do you find Morels? I only find a few now and then.

Click my name and check out the results of this morning's Turkey hunt. How do you find Morels? I only find a few now and then.

Learn to spot Elm trees, they're found around them alot, Cedars too. Take an old-timer w/you, I did this last spring and found a BUNCH. I'm a bit of a novice myself, and that "experienced" mushroomer taught me alot about where to look, and where not to waste your time. Congrats on the turkey.

Comment

NICE BIRD!! Congratulations Del!

Comment

I could go on all day about how to find morels, It’s become quite a passion of mine. The truth is Morels never fail to surprise me and show up in the most unexpected places. I would say however that gradual hillsides adjacent to creeks or streams typically yield good numbers. It is always a good idea to look on both sides of a rotting log, no matter what the species. If your having trouble slow your approach, and crouch low to the ground and scan an area of about 15 to 20 feet. This puts you at eye level with the mushrooms and you would be surprised at how many will pop out at you. Also don’t forget to look in the area within the 15 to 20 feet as you can easy look right past closer mushrooms. It’s not uncommon for me to stay crouched for up to 5 minutes before spotting mushrooms. If you’re trying to cover large areas carry a walking stick and scan it over the ground like a metal detector, follow the tip with your eyes and you will be surprised at how many mushrooms you find this way. Always remember; if you find one there is usually a few nearby. Good luck and happy hunting.

Comment