Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Im new to hunting and i have a rossi 243 rifle and was wondering if a 243 is big enough for deer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Im new to hunting and i have a rossi 243 rifle and was wondering if a 243 is big enough for deer

Im new to hunting and i have a rossi 243 rifle and was wondering if a 243 is big enough for deer

.243 is more than enough. I've heard of people shooting deer with .223 and .22-250 and not having any problems. I've also seen deer shot with a .243 that had fifty cent piece size exit wounds. Use a round with a soft point and above 100 grs and you'll be just fine.

Comment

.243 would work great and use 100 grain bullets (I didnt use soft tips) and there was A LOT of blood when I shot one with a .243

Comment

I've taken more deer with a 22-250 than all my 25 to 444 cals put together. That 243 or better put 243-08 will do you a fine job!

Comment

the .243 is a great rifle for any medium sized animal in north america. it is a great choice for a first rifle because of its light recoil and availble ammunition. know however the range at which its effective is. if you are hunting power line right of way, large bean feilds, out west etc where a 300 plus yard shot is common place then think about something else. thats not to say that it will not kill deer at that range but there is a better chance that it will simply wound the deer and we owe it to our game to make and clean ethical kill

Comment