Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I want to buy a good fly rod and reel for bass/ steelhead. I was thinking about a 9weight. Is this a good choice of weight? and

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I want to buy a good fly rod and reel for bass/ steelhead. I was thinking about a 9weight. Is this a good choice of weight? and

I want to buy a good fly rod and reel for bass/ steelhead. I was thinking about a 9weight. Is this a good choice of weight? and what is an inexpensive choice as i am a student with only a part time job?

I very good rod is the St. Croix Imperial. I think they run around $150 and perform like a $500 rod. Reddington Rods are also very good and less expensive. If you are buying a reel for steelhead I would suggest buying a reel with a good drag. I have always fished my 6 wgt for bass and steelhead. My 8 weight with the larger reel are just so much heavier it wears my casting arm out too quick.

Comment

an 8 wt albright flyrod.

Comment

Albright makes the Yellowstone 2 piece in an 8 wt for less than $40.00

Comment

thanks guys i appreciate it. That is what ill be using my paycheck for tomorrow

Comment

Build your own rod! For the cost of L.A. Garcia's book, a decent set of rod blanks/cork grip/anodized reel seat/thread/guides, you'll have a better-than-average rod in about one day.
            If you can tie flies, you can easily build a rod. Hell, if you can tie your shoes, you can build a rod. It's hugely satisfying.
            If you buy, Beware Redington. My four-piece 9-footer (saltwater rod) broke so often I knew the customer service staff by name. Maybe they've found a new blank-maker, but I'd prefer the St. Croix. I've fished an 8-weight for 15 years, up to 50 days a year and it just keeps on keeping on.

Comment

I agreed with buckhunter answer!

Comment

Comment

Comment

Comment

Comment

Comment

Welcome!

Collapse