Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any tips for a newbie rabbit hunter?

How’s it goin!

I’m a beginner hunter who’s been trying to get himself some rabbit.

Ive gone out to some good public land spots in the middle of farm land trying to get some rabbits.

I have found plenty of tracks, rabbit dens, rabbit droppings, but no rabbits! I go and I kick and stomp on brush and old fallen trees and branches where there are plenty of tracks and droppings but nothing! I even found a major rabbit den, like a rabbit hotel if you will. No rabbits. Don’t even see them.

I go out in the morning about 7am-noon. Ive gone out from noon-4pm.

I have not got a rabbit or even had a chance to see one. It’s as if they all disappeared.

Does anyone have any tips for beginner just trying to get himself a rabbit? Small game season is about to end and I still haven’t got one!

If location helps, I’m in the Minnesota Twin Cities metro area. I hunt a little south, just outside the metro area.

Thanks!

Sounds like you are doing things right. You might try taking a stand off to the side of a major path going from a den to food area and stay still. Almost any time of day you should catch one moving around.

Comment

It sounds like you don't have a dog, so I'll go with that; I don't hunt with one, either. I assume you're moving through the cover nice and slow, but here's one thing I learned early on: Nice and slow, as I thought of it, was way too fast. Slooooowwww dooowwwwn. The slower you move, with plenty of pauses, the more nervous rabbits will get. When they're nervous is when they decide to run. Also, the slower you go, and the more time you spend just looking, the more likely you are to spot them. I've had cottontails sit absolutely tight within six or seven feet of my boot for minutes at a time, and as you probably realize, they are very hard to see in the right kind of cover (and they don't typically pick the wrong kind of cover).