Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

hi Im new to hunting brush, cottontail, and jackrabbit. I will be hunting with a 20 gauge shotgun. Are there any good hunting ta

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hi Im new to hunting brush, cottontail, and jackrabbit. I will be hunting with a 20 gauge shotgun. Are there any good hunting ta

hi Im new to hunting brush, cottontail, and jackrabbit. I will be hunting with a 20 gauge shotgun. Are there any good hunting tactics? Do I need much camo? Where and when should I hunt? Thank You for all the help.

You dont need much when i rabbit hunt i just walk around till i see one and then shoot

Comment

Camo is not needed, more important is a good pair of brush pants and a pack of short-legged beagles. Step on brush piles and briar thickets and be ready to shoot quickly. When hunting with dogs, the rabbit will almost always run a circle back to where you jumped him, stay near where he jumped! If you don't have any dogs, step on or kick any available cover or if it's so thick you can't do either, throw some rocks in there. They will let you walk right by them and stay put unless they sense real danger. 20 gauge is a good choice since they are smaller and easier to carry all day than a 12 and is more than enough to kill a rabbit, I like shot size #6, high and low brass both work.

Comment

No camo. 20 6 or 5 1/2 shot is good. Be watchful. they like to move in circles and back behind you. if you see movement check it out. Binoculars are a must.

Comment

o yea and as for when, doesn't really matter but when there is deep snow i have not had very good luck, seems like the rabbits stay burrowed under the snow and brush piles and are very hard to jump...

Comment

You do not need much to hunt rabbit. Most of the time I walk around until I find a rabbit or a brush pile. I kick the brush pile and hope the rabbit comes running out.

Comment