30-06 ammunition for moose

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 30-06 ammunition for moose

Well at least I came up with something to ask. Does anyone have any experience with Barnes bullets? Like most people I'm having trouble finding ammunition for my father's up coming moose hunt. He normally shoots 165 grain bullets in his .30-06 for deer but I'd like to up the weight to 180 grains for the moose. It seems Barnes 180 grain TTSX is all that's available on Midway worth buying for big game. I have no experience with them. Also, am I right in thinking 165 grains is too light? I know there are 220 grain factory loads for .30-06 but everything I've read is the 180 grain loading in ballisticly superior do to the better combination and velocity and weight. Any suggestions?

I think the 165's would work o.k. but as for experience I have Colorado relatives who use the Barnes 180 ttsx for elk and are very satisfied. It's their go to load.

Comment

Well sir, I'm no moose hunter, but I'd think that the 180 grain would more than suffice.
      Again, even more important than bullet is "bullet placement".
      Unfortunately, game animals haven't read the manual on "Presenting the Perfect Shot 101"! LOL!
      I've not heard anything bad about Barnes bullets. I believe the Barnes TTSX 180 would be a good bet.

Good luck.
      Good hunting.

Comment