Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

One rifle for elk, deer, and other big game?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One rifle for elk, deer, and other big game?

I am looking at getting a new rifle and was wondering what your opinion is on the practicality of a caliber to use for both deer and elk, plus others such as caribou. I've been looking at the 300 mag, the 300 WSM, the .308, and others. My range limit is 400 yards which is a personal decision. What caliber would you say would be most versatile?

Originally posted by Johnson4274 View Post
    I am looking at getting a new rifle and was wondering what your opinion is on the practicality of a caliber to use for both deer and elk, plus others such as caribou. I've been looking at the 300 mag, the 300 WSM, the .308, and others. My range limit is 400 yards which is a personal decision. What caliber would you say would be most versatile?
    I have been shooting a 300WSM for over 20 years or whenever it came out I had the first one in my county. I shoot 165 grain Nosler Accubonds and this would be my choice for what you are wanting to hunt. 5 shots in 3/4 inch at 100 yards. Simms Limb Saver recoil pad on it and it is very pleasant to shoot. I have a .308 too but the 300WSM would be my choice.

Comment

Originally posted by Sarge01 View Post

I have been shooting a 300WSM for over 20 years or whenever it came out I had the first one in my county. I shoot 165 grain Nosler Accubonds and this would be my choice for what you are wanting to hunt. 5 shots in 3/4 inch at 100 yards. Simms Limb Saver recoil pad on it and it is very pleasant to shoot. I have a .308 too but the 300WSM would be my choice.
      I forgot to mention my 300WSM is a Sako A7 stainless with a Nikon Buckmaster( old style) 3X9X50 scope on it.

Comment

Darn Sarge , did you have to give such great answer right out of the gate!

Comment