Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tell me please

What's the best gun for 19 years old boy, complete noob

A lever action thutty thutty with aperture iron sights.
    JMO.

Comment

25-06

We have so many fine cartridges that picking one can be tough. I can suggest a couple that have worked great for me and my use of a rifle. I like the flexibility to hunt forest, dense cover and also over large open spaces and the prairie where game can be distant and often running. I did a lot of varmint hunting for prairie dogs, foxes and coyotes but also consistently hunted white tail, mule deer and antelope. I tried 30-06, .270, .243, 6.5mm Carcano, .308, .220 Swift, 30-30 and .35 Remington over the years. I tried a few of the magnums and learned quickly that they had terrible recoil and a high cost of operation. If this is going to be his only rifle, a big magnum would not be a good choice unless he only intends to shoot animals the size of elk. Finally, although it was a wild cat when I first used it, I tried a 25-06. That was a unique experience that I still remember well. I started hitting shots that I previously didn't even try. I also discovered that I really had no need for tracking skills because almost everything I shot was right where it was when I shot.