First year hunting.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First year hunting.

This is my first year truly hunting. I took a doe opening day with a crossbow. I hunt right behind my house. My blind is 50 yards from the door. My stand isnt too much further. I only have 6 acres but the only thing around me is pines for lumber so the deer naturally come to my land. Rifle season starts this weekend and I want to place my shot where they wont run at all or very little. My farthest shot will be maybe 70 yards. The doe I got with my crossbow ran just off my property. No big deal but I would like to drop them quick. High shoulder seems to be what i want but I keep finding 2 different aiming points. Some say half way up above leg but others say 2/3 up. Which is the better spot?

When you find that "magic" spot, please let the rest of us know! LOL!
    I always (?) aim for dead center of the shoulder. Most of the time, the bullet is still rising when it arrives on target and generally disrupts the spinal column between the shoulder blades.
    "IF" you hit that spot, they generally drop on the spot.
    I hunt one stand that I absolutely, positively HAVE to anchor them on the spot.
    When I hunt there, my rule is do not take a shot until the animal is broadside. Hopefully, I take out both shoulders if not the spine.

The "high shoulder" shot or neck shot is probably the best to anchor one immediately.

Just remember "Murphy's Law"!
    "If anything can go wrong, it will ...and at the most inopportune time!"

Good luck!
    Good hunting!

Comment

Here's an article and vital-organ "map" from an Outdoor Life article.
      https://www.outdoorlife.com/blogs/bi...deer-one-shot/

Comment