Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

i have been hunting for almost 13 years and i have only seen maybe 5 deer while in the stand. i have used all the scent controls

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• i have been hunting for almost 13 years and i have only seen maybe 5 deer while in the stand. i have used all the scent controls

i have been hunting for almost 13 years and i have only seen maybe 5 deer while in the stand. i have used all the scent controls, scouted and put blinds out where i thought they needed to be, and i'm still and silent. why is it that i struggle to see anything besides squirrels???

Where are you hunting? That probably has a lot to do with it.

Comment

Sounds you are doing everything right. As vasportsman mentioned maybe that's all the Deer that are there. All I would add is there is no such thing as scent control. A Deer has 5x the olfactory sensors as the best Dog. Double that when you talk about Pigs. If there was such a thing as scent blocking the Drug Cartels would have a patent already. Pay more attention to which way the wind blows.

Comment

Sometimes, they just aren't there. Maybe try resting that area for a while, maybe even a season or two while keeping it up and planted and all. Try hunting some public land or get in good with the guy that owns the land that you always see tons of deer on when driving home.

Comment

Five deer in 13 years... I will give you an "A" for sticking it out. Most would have given up by now. You are hunting in a bad spot.

Comment

Have you used any trail cameras to scout deer in the area? Also how careful are you upon entry and exit of your area.

Comment