Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need help getting any information I can get on hunting Mule Deer. I have been hunting whitetail deer for 43 years. Now living in

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help getting any information I can get on hunting Mule Deer. I have been hunting whitetail deer for 43 years. Now living in

Need help getting any information I can get on hunting Mule Deer. I have been hunting whitetail deer for 43 years. Now living in Arizona and would like any information on hunting tips, books, magazines and more important, from MULE deer hunters.

Scout, scout, and scout some more. Until the rut begins, mule deer will generally be pretty localized and that makes it easy to pattern any good deer you might find. Once the rut kicks in it's a whole different ballgame. Bucks are harder to pattern and a lot of times will cover a lot of ground. Your best bet then is to sit tight in an area where you already know that mature bucks have been frequenting and that you have a great vantage point of a lot of country. Cozy up to some good glass and comb the countryside until you spot your trophy. At that point use the terrain/foliage to move within shooting distance and see what might happen. I know this is all pretty hypothetical advise, but hopefully it helps at least a little bit. If I were to sum it all up I would say use your glass and go to the deer, don't wait for the deer to come to you as you would when whitetail hunting.

Comment

Mike Eastman and David Long have good mule deer books. You can probably get them from amazon.

Comment