Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

i have been hunting for a few years now and a farm behind my house i hunt on the outskirts like in my neighbors yards in treesta

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• i have been hunting for a few years now and a farm behind my house i hunt on the outskirts like in my neighbors yards in treesta

i have been hunting for a few years now and a farm behind my house i hunt on the outskirts like in my neighbors yards in treestands. The farmer has left the fields fallow for four years to let the soil increase the richness because the soil was used for many years and was becoming less rich. he plowed and planted corn in all the fields except the one i hunt in. all the deer have been feeding in their and i want to attract them into my field. Im not allowed to hunt the other fields because another hunter hunts there and he doesnt like me. should i make a small foodplot, put attractant out, apples? I cant figure out a good plan on these deer and the bucks wont come out of the woods, so how can i get them in my field and not the corn field?

I made a small food plot with "Whitetail Imperial" and the deer ate it all up before archery hunting season ever started.
    Even the ground was all torn up.

Comment

it is hard to draw deer away from corn. It is by far, one of their favorite food sources. If you can create a small secluded food plot, you may find that the bucks will hit your spot first one their way to the larger more open fields.

Creating a "staging area" where they can hang out and wait for the cover of darkness before hitting the open fields. Keep it small 1/4-1/2 ac and the thick fallow field, which I assume the deer are bedding in, will hold does and attract bucks.

Comment