Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it legal to take a turkey with a high-powered air rifle in Georgia?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it legal to take a turkey with a high-powered air rifle in Georgia?

Is it legal to take a turkey with a high-powered air rifle in Georgia?

It is illegal to take any large game with an air rifle, with the exception of hogs during small game seasons (but why would you try to kill a 250# hog with a BB gun anyway!). BTW I live in Georgia so I am not guessing, you will be busted!

Comment

Under the "Legal Firearms" for turkeys section of GA's regs: "Shotguns with No. 2 or smaller shot and any muzzleloading firearm."

I am also a GA resident and the game wardens are on patrol, especially in Nat. Forest areas.

Comment

I'll put it this way...it's not legal to shoot squirrels in GA with an air gun, much less a turkey.

Comment

I dont know about that last one. I know tons of people who shoot squirrels with air rifles in GA. I'll have to look into that one.

Comment

Small Game & Furbearer Firearms
            •Rifles and Handguns: Any .22-cal. or smaller rimfire, air rifle, or any muzzleloading firearm. There is no restriction on magazine capacity for rifles.
            •Shotguns: Any having shot shell size 3.5 inches or smaller in length with No. 2 or smaller shot.
            •Shotguns (Waterfowl): Any 10-gauge or smaller loaded with federally approved nontoxic shot of size “F” or smaller. Lead shot may not be in possession while hunting waterfowl.

Always check the regs before you hunt: www.eregulations.com/georgia/hunting/general-hunting-information/

Comment

Pellet rifles are legal to use to hunt small game.

Comment

However it seems from another post Michael has made (the one about shooting a deer at 83yd.s with a .177 pellet rifle) he is not very concerned about legal ramifications for breaking hunting regulations.