Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm new to hunting and want to ask for a gun for my birthday. I've been hunting with my grandpa and uncles for a few years now s

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm new to hunting and want to ask for a gun for my birthday. I've been hunting with my grandpa and uncles for a few years now s

I'm new to hunting and want to ask for a gun for my birthday. I've been hunting with my grandpa and uncles for a few years now so I'm kind of familiar with the game. I've been doing countless hours of research trying to figure what caliber to get but still have no idea... I have a decent amount of experience with rifles but want a caliber that is pretty light on recoil. I will be mainly hunting whitetail but would like to have enough fire power to take an elk if I would ever go out west. If you have any ideas share them with me! Thanks!

I would say 30-06 would be great, but if you're recoil sensitive a .308 will take down an elk with a well placed shot. I'm a bit biased towards the .308 because it's my main caliber, but it's a great round! .30-06, .308, and .270 will most likely be the most popular responses you get, and you really can't go wrong with any of those rounds! Good hunting!

Comment

I have posted this link before and I hope it helps.
      www.deer30outdoors.com/caliber-selection-for-whitetail-deer/

Comment

If it were just for deer, I would suggest the .243 without hesitation, but when you throw elk into the mix, you will want something heavier.
        Since you sound very tentative about ever going out west, why don't you settle on a deer rifle for now, and plan on borrowing an elk rifle if the need arises.
        If that should be a long way off, you may be able to buy another rifle by then. Good luck.

Comment