Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm looking for some suggestions for a good beginning deer rifle. I'm new to hunting but go trap and skeet shooting. I have a 30

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm looking for some suggestions for a good beginning deer rifle. I'm new to hunting but go trap and skeet shooting. I have a 30

I'm looking for some suggestions for a good beginning deer rifle. I'm new to hunting but go trap and skeet shooting. I have a 30/30 lever action. Just open to hear some other suggestion and wont break the bank.

It depends on what type of terrain you intend to hunt and how. CL3 offers good suggestions above. Nothing wrong with the .30-30 in the proper application, but there are better all around choices.

Comment

As long as your 30/30 isn't an old Winchester with out a safety stick with that. Get the Hornity Lever Revolutions for ammo and its a heck of a gun.

Comment

If you hunt in New York Pennsylvania or similar area you already have THE Deer rifle. IMHO

Comment

Hi...

The .30-30 has always been a very popular deer hunting gun...and still is.

My own personal preference for a deer rifle is the .308 lever-action Savage.

I don't know what you mean by a "beginning" deer rifle, as you already have one...!!

Good luck in the deer woods.

Comment

I'd stick with the 30-30 and use that money to buy a tree stand and/or other hunting equipment....like bullets (cause they're so expensive and rare to find now a days!!)

Comment

Beginning was the wrong word to use. Is it worth putting a scope on the 30/30?

Comment

30-30 is a great start. I started with my dad's iron sighted 30-30 then eventually got a newer Marlin and put a 3x9 scope on it. Anything 150 yrds or less hits the dust.