Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ok I wasn't clear enough with my earlier question about clearing a spot for a food plot. I am NOT clearing their bedding area or

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ok I wasn't clear enough with my earlier question about clearing a spot for a food plot. I am NOT clearing their bedding area or

Ok I wasn't clear enough with my earlier question about clearing a spot for a food plot. I am NOT clearing their bedding area or around it. It's a spot in the middle of some pine woods. It's a location where I think it will do good. There is two diffrent places I could do. One of them is just in the middle of the woods in an opening with small trees and underbrush. How do I clear this and what will do good here. I want to do soybeans but I'm new to this so any advice would be helpful. -thanks, andrew

A Gas powerade Weed/Wacker and a Hand Rake will work as for Soybeans the deer will eat them before they grow-up
    JMO~~ put up a Corn pole Feeder or two they hold 35# of corn each...The deer will make a path to your feeders.
    then you can have two or more Tree Stands Depending on the wind that day...Play the wind in you favor!!

Comment

Here are some considerations based on my experiences.
      Pine woods are likely to have pretty acidic soils so many crop plants will require soil amendments to do well. Check this out before you plant anything and you may save money on fert./ lime etc.
      I like to find out what native plants animals use and match my selection to the soil characteristics. This usually results in healthier plants with less maintenance and preparation expense. Check with a local forester and/or biologist and select plants based on their recommendation.