Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

ok i'm new to turkey hunting i hunted last year without much sucses any tips?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ok i'm new to turkey hunting i hunted last year without much sucses any tips?

ok i'm new to turkey hunting i hunted last year without much sucses any tips?

Full camo, Sit very still, preferrably against a large tree.

Comment

Scouting is the most important thing as far a turkey hunting goes. You have to find the gobblers to be successful. My state is full of turkeys but there are areas where they are few and far between. In the south I look for areas of mature hardwoods interspersed with pasture or row crop land. In National forest areas I look for Mature forest interspersed with timber cuts or forest service land adjacent to agriculture. Get into a suitable area before dawn and listen for gobbling. Avoid using locator calls. Scout roads and old logging decks for signs of strutting gobbles, look for scratching in wooded areas. In the late morning and afternoon hours look for turkeys in pastures, fields and clear cuts.

Once you have the birds located continue to scout them and you will typically see a pattern of movement develop. Set up according to the pattern of movement. Don't over call, let the tom's mood and reactions tell you when and how much to call. Use good camo from head to toe, move quitely by foot, don't ride a 4 wheeler everywhere. Above all be patient!
      Good hunting!

Comment