Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am wondering if it would be a good idea to buy some 80lb limbs for my PSE Rally i am 14 years old,5ft8,and 140 lbs i draw my 7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am wondering if it would be a good idea to buy some 80lb limbs for my PSE Rally i am 14 years old,5ft8,and 140 lbs i draw my 7

I am wondering if it would be a good idea to buy some 80lb limbs for my PSE Rally i am 14 years old,5ft8,and 140 lbs i draw my 70lb bow extremely easily...good idea or bad?

I'm not really an archery expert, but I'd say 70 lbs is more than good enough, add more weight, even if you can handle it, and you might lose accuracy.

Comment

For deer i'd say that's be silly. If you're bowhunting Elk, moose or bear, maybe, but 70# is pretty stout.

Comment

The best way to find out is to try it.

All you've got to lose is some money.

Ah hadda 75 lb traditional longbow and Ah could pull it easily until Ah started gittin old...

Comment

Overall, I think it is not a good idea. Could you get more draw weight from your existing bow? Change arrows and broadheads? You are only 14 years old and are growing and this bow will not fit you for long without updates. The equipment today is much more efficient than years past and lessens the need for heavy draw bows. I would change equipment as you grow out of yours to better technology. Years ago, I competed with a bow with a 108# draw weight in the International Bow hunting Organization, doing very well. The next year, IBO set a limit of 80# for its competition(The wimps were all crying.) I needed to change equipment and did even better the next year. My point is that archery industry is in rapid change the last two decades, and that with technology, you now longer need the heavy draw weights. (Point of interest: In the Middle Ages, the long bow had a draw weight of more than 150#, but I am sure they would have traded it for the modern compound bow)

Comment