Any Oklahoma Turkey Hunters?!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Oklahoma Turkey Hunters?!

Anyone from Oklahoma or have experience turkey hunting in Oklahoma? I’m new to hunting and looking for some advice and a network/community to chat with.

Yes sir.
    I'm down in the Lawton/Duncan area.
    As for a network, I'm a lone hunter. I'm old and crippled so I don't "run 'n gun" any longer or walk long distances.
    I only hunt private land and I do a lot of sitting, watching and listening.
    When season opens, I've set up hides and blinds, hopefully in the right locations so I can call receptive toms in. Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0948.JPG
Views:	147
Size:	3.76 MB
ID:	722348
    I don't use pop up blinds. The scramble of "stuff" behind the bird was my "hide".
    Click image for larger version

Name:	100_1075.JPG
Views:	138
Size:	3.81 MB
ID:	722349
    This is a fall bird I patterned, built a screen and caught them at a creek crossing.

Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0916.JPG
Views:	131
Size:	3.44 MB
ID:	722350
    You don't need tons of cover.
    Figure out where the bird is most likely to appear, set your shotgun on a tripod and stay very still.

Comment

Biggest help I can give you is this.
      Turkeys go through transitions.
      Each transition lasts about 2 weeks.

In the spring, turkeys run in groups of toms or hens.
      That's "winter" mode or
      Transition 1.
      When they come out of winter mode, you will see large groups of mostly hens and a few toms. The toms will be strutting.
      I've seen a single hen with a tom strutting around. I've also see as many as 80 or so hens. There we 13 toms scattered across a bare ridge, strutting and gobbling.
      In this phase, most of the breeding takes place and hens begin to move off and nest. That's
      Transition 2.
      When hens move away to nest, old tom, who has recently had hens at his beck and call, gets really lonesome, really quick.