Turkey Hunting Newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turkey Hunting Newbie

I am looking to do some Rio Grande turkey hunting this spring at Black Kettle WMA in Oklahoma. I have a Remington 870 Express that I want to use. What is the best shot and choke to use? I’m a relatively novice outdoorsman and have never harvested any game via my shotgun.

The best shot size is what patterns best in the your gun.
    The best choke is what gets you the best pattern.
    I shoot a Rem 870 Express.
    I bought an aftermarket "Xtra Full" choke tube.
    Works like a champ.
    Ammo!
    VERY good question!
    I don't buy the 3" Turkey specific, high dollar wonder ammo.
    I just use a good quality (Win) , high velocity (at least 1250fps) with 1 1/8 ounce of #8's.
    If you want to spend the dough on the high dollar ammo, that's up to you.
    The two birds in my avatar and two of the birds I posted on the other thread were killed with 8's. The bird with the little wooden stool was shot with 7 1/2's.
    Ammo is a matter of choice, but don't let anybody tell you that you've got to have 4s or 5s or 3" ammo.

Your aim point is the point on a turkeys neck where the feathers stop and the wattles start.
    DO NOT body shoot a turkey. He can haul off a lot of lead.
    Shoot him in the neck or head where you disrupt the central nervous system. That's your best chance.
    Keep your shots close. Thirty to 35 yards to start.

Comment

You don't need anything special for a choke, modified is more than adequate, full if you want a little more reach.

Any shot size 6-8 LEAD will kill turkeys just as dead just as quick as whatever super duper turkey smasher load is on the market while being a whole lot easier on your wallet and shoulder.

Comment