Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm in the military stationed in KS, I've been hunting waterfowl for about five years now on public land but in that time I've n

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm in the military stationed in KS, I've been hunting waterfowl for about five years now on public land but in that time I've n

I'm in the military stationed in KS, I've been hunting waterfowl for about five years now on public land but in that time I've noticed it to be almost a race to get to the grounds to lock down a spot, every year I wake up earlier and earlier which turns out to be almost six hours before shoot light. To make this more about having fun and less about rushing I want to ask a nearby landowner if it would be possible to hunt his land during the goose season (they love his field but nobody hunts it), what would be the best way to ask, would it be beneficial to offer him some of the spoils of my labor, maybe even put his mind at ease about cleanup making him aware that I reload my own shells so cleanup would not be an issue, and should I call or approach him directly? Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Make contact early, introduce yourself. Have some cards made up with your service info and your name and address. Might work, you never know until you approach the person how they feel about hunting.

Comment

Approach him directly, be well groomed (I assume you would be as a military man), and polite. Your first impression is the most important. If he doesn't like you right off, none of the other stuff will make a difference. If he says yes, take the initiative and just give him some of your game, or take him something else as a way of saying thanks.
      Good luck

Comment

1st of all, thank you for your service to this country, and everyone else on this site. 2nd, early bird gets the worm.

Comment