Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am new to gun dogs/training. I was thinking about getting a quail harness to train with. once the dog points the quail, what c

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am new to gun dogs/training. I was thinking about getting a quail harness to train with. once the dog points the quail, what c

I am new to gun dogs/training. I was thinking about getting a quail harness to train with. once the dog points the quail, what comes next (aside from praise). the bird doesnt flush obviously. I know i can re-plant the bird somewhere else, but is this all that is supposed to be accomplished? just a point? any help and tips are appreciated....

Personally I don't like bird harnesses. It gives an unnatural presentation to the dog. If done incorrectly it can also lead to your dog thinking it can catch the bird. Spend a lot of time teaching them to hold to point on a wing and then move on to planted birds.

Comment

aljoe- that's the same thing i was thinking. its not natural. the bird gets pointed and then it does nothing. i think it would be helpful to a puppy to get them acclimated with the bird as an early starting point for training (point, scenting, prey drive, etc) but after a few times i didn't really see the benefit of it. that's why I wanted to know if there was anything else you were supposed to do after the point.

Comment