Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

anyone have advice for a beginner turkey hunter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• anyone have advice for a beginner turkey hunter?

anyone have advice for a beginner turkey hunter?

Yes, stay very still.

Comment

Gear Wise: Get a good pad to sit on, that is a must. Good camo, couple of simple calls, box, slate, or push button, and learn their uses. And maybe a decoy, a hen and a jake work good. Thats the basic gear. You can expand later with different calls, vests, etc.

Huntin Wise: Listen and learn from the turkeys, how they communicate. Learn their habits and behaviors. The more you hunt the more you'll learn. I'm self taught, and have had a lot of sucess. And read F&S for more helpful tips.

Comment

Sit very still and have your gun up before you can see the bird cuz if not you'll be seein nothin but tailfeather

Comment

Be still and full camo is a must. Pattern your shotgun and know your distance.

Comment

Full camo, learn to use a couple diffrent calls, just listen to the turkeys while your out there. They can teach you alot, and it's kinda fun to argue with a hen while she's bringing in a couple toms with her. You'll learn new things and ways to hunt each time you go out. For some many people saying their stupid birds they can be hard to hunt.

Comment

full camo and 12 ga

Comment

Get turkey head targets, and shoot the crap out of them. Get good with light loads so it's cheap, then make sure you are just as good with heavy magnum turkey loads. Unless you are hard-core in the recoil category, don't feel the need to shoot 3.5"s. But it won't hurt. Much. 2 3/4" magnums will kill them, as will a 20 gauge. 3"s are perfect. Use size 5 shot copper plated and buffered shot, even though your everyday 7 1/2 will work too. An all camo gun is great, or you can camo wrap or tape or even paint your gun.