Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how far should i take a mule deer on a 30-06

how far should i take a mule deer on a 30-06

As far as you feel comfortable that you can make a good kill shot.

Comment

That depends on your shooting skills.

Comment

I have heard lots of people talking about super long shots. I bought a range pass and the target at 200 yards away is a long way off. I've been hunting for ten years now and I've never made a shot at that distance.

The rifle however I'me sure could easily do 400 yards if you could do your part.

Comment

The .30-06 is capable of taking big game way beyond most shooter's range. Practice,...er, train with it and see how far you can consistently hit the pieplate from. that's your range.

Comment

Shoot any animal as close as you can. Your rifle is certainly capable of long range accuracy and power but the shooters ability is almost always the limiting factor.

Comment

I have to say this is not a good question to ask the public.Everyones personal shooting limits are different and you cannot compare my skill to your skill so to speak. What I might be able to shoot with my .30/06 may be farther/shorter than what you can with yours, it is all dependant on you and your equipment, but to try and help you out:

Get as close as you possibly can, don't take a long shot if you don't have to. The cartridge is lehtal to ranges I'm sure you wouldn't shoot, but the queston is how far can you and your accurately place your first shot into th vitals of a deer. Because in a hunting situation the first shot is the only one that matters. You need to find you and your equipments limits and the only way to do that is get out and start shooting at longer ranges. When you start to miss something the size of a paper plate or something of similar size, then you shouldn't take a shot at an animal at that range.