Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am new to hunting, and am on a budget to start. I have an beautiful old Ithaca 12G (smooth at first so I could do anything) an

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am new to hunting, and am on a budget to start. I have an beautiful old Ithaca 12G (smooth at first so I could do anything) an

I am new to hunting, and am on a budget to start. I have an beautiful old Ithaca 12G (smooth at first so I could do anything) and a 10/22. I now want a big game rifle. To get the most bang for my initial rifle buck, I am considering the Ruger American, but I'm not stuck on it, nor am I necessarily stuck on new. My bigger question though is what is the best all-around/all-beast caliber to start with until I can afford a rifle for every purpose? THANKS!!!

"Ain't many problems a man can't fix, with 700 dollars and a 30-'06."

Comment

I probably should have said this first one needs to be under $500 (After Tax.)

Comment

Welcome to F&S, The best all around Cal:30/06 as for a budget Rifle Savage Axes,MARP $375.00 and a Bushnell 3-9x40 scope, Still on a budget! buy a used Marlin 336 in 30-30,32Win Spl.35 Rem, $275.00+/- add a good Pep sight or scope. Good Luck

Comment

I have a savage axis and I like it a lot. if you get one in 30-06 then you should be good to go.

Comment

Wal-Mart stores around here sell a Remington 700 SPS combo for I believe about $500. The Remington 700 is a great gun (I am just a little bit biased) and the caliber choice is totally up to you and the game you hunt. For an all around caliber though 30-06 is the way to go like others have said! If you don't like the recoil you can always move down to a .308 or .270.

Comment

[Blank]

Comment

[Blank]

Comment

[Blank]

Comment

First and only should be a 30 06. Savage is a good place to look, but there are many others.

Comment