Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bowhunting- If someone were an absolute beginner, had never loosed an arrow in their life and was interested in bowhunting, what

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bowhunting- If someone were an absolute beginner, had never loosed an arrow in their life and was interested in bowhunting, what

Bowhunting- If someone were an absolute beginner, had never loosed an arrow in their life and was interested in bowhunting, what advice would you give? I have hunted my entire life but with firearms only...The bow is calling me, where do I start?

Find a local archery club and buy a few beers. You will meet a ton of people who will be willing to and capable of helping you get started. Archers are good people. I got started that way, introduced myself around, met the club pro and over the next several months i got thousands of dollars worth of advice, lessons gear and bow work, and i got a good friend and mentor out of it, he got to help a new archer and a new active club member, a win win for everyone.

Comment

Buy a bow and start to practice. a lot.

Comment

The only thing that I regret about bowhunting is that I did not start sooner. Archery club's are golden, most bowhunters I know are happy to share.

Comment

If you just ask, you should have no trouble getting help. Bowhunters are more than happy to get someone else addicted.

Oh, apologize ahead of time to your significant other.

Comment

Buy a bow (doesn't have to be anything fancy), practice every day. Shoot at diffrent angles. Learn your limits and your bow just like you would with guns. Good luck hunting.

Comment

a lot of archery shops have indoor ranges that let you shoot bows before you buy them. Find one you are comfortable with, practice a bunch, get some camo and get out in the woods.

Comment

Stay away from Wally World and find a reputable Bow shop.