Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone know why shotgun ammo is so cheap compared to rifle ammo?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone know why shotgun ammo is so cheap compared to rifle ammo?

Anyone know why shotgun ammo is so cheap compared to rifle ammo?

It won't shoot as far

Comment

i donno but i'm not compalneing

Comment

I'm no expert, but my guess would be the materials used to make them. With shotgun ammo, the hull is mostly plastic and the shot is lead only. The casing on rifle ammo is all metal (brass) and the bullet is lead coated with copper (unless it's a new "green" bullet or Barnes).

Comment

The metallic ammo inherently costs more to manufacture to exacting standards than does a plastic shotgun shell even considering the usual bit of metal on the later. The bullets may cost a lot more to produce than the shot load. Powder and primers appear to be about the same price. I am certain that another economical factor is that rare, hence seldom purchased, rifle cartridges cost more to the consumer because the manufactuers are attempting to recoup their investment in a low volume product. On the other hand reloading is comparatively inexpensive in relation to store bought ammunition depending principaly upon specific projectile selection.

Comment

Rifle and pistol ammo is high simply by demand. Employees at Wal-mart told me that they get a delivery on thursday and that night people have bought most of the ammo by the cases.

Comment

Answers 3 and 4 are pretty much right on the money.

Comment

I wouldn't call unleaded shotshells and slugs cheap, even in comparison to centerfire rounds.

In addition to the previous comments copper (and to a bit lesser extent, lead) costs went up tremendously over the last few years, driving up costs for brass and bullets.

Comment

supply demand

Comment

Plastic and lead is a lot cheaper then brass and copper.

Comment