I need help for info on my first shotgun

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need help for info on my first shotgun

Hello if theres anyone who can help tell me what choke i can use for steel shot or slugs on my shotgun which is a mossberg 500a 1990s model wood stock etc. The barrel is smooth bore and has internal screw in for chokes which i have improved cylinder, full, and modified. Im not an expert on chokes and what they do i have shot lead game shot size 4 and 5 for recreational use only for now this is the first gun i bought if anyone can help thanks.

Welcome to the site! Here's what I use:

Improved Cylinder for slugs to hunt deer and pigs
    Improved Cylinder for 00 Buck as home defense
    Modified for hunting birds or squirrels either lead or steel shot
    Full for hunting Turkey, and I guess for pass shooting at Waterfowl... but I confess, it's been decades since I last hunted ducks.

I don't use buckshot for hunting, but if I did, it would probably be with a full choke.

Bass Pro Shops has a good basic article on chokes:
    https://1source.basspro.com/news-tip...un-choke-tubes
    Last edited by PigHunter; 05-12-2020, 10:27 AM.

Comment

Mossberg makes chokes for steel.....they are not flush fitting.

They were/are called " accusteel " if I remember correctly.

These would be used for waterfowling. They extend a little bit to keep the stress off the barrels thread area when constricting the shot.

I dont remember if the regular flush fit accuchokes were rated for steel shot up to a certain size or not

Comment

Here's the answer per the use of steel shot directly from the Mossberg manual:

http://www.mossberg.com/wp-content/u...-English_V.pdf

Click image for larger version

Name:	500 manual.JPG
Views:	113
Size:	109.9 KB
ID:	732735

Comment

The factory Mossberg chokes I have say “for lead only”( or something to that effect ) if they aren’t rated for steel.

Comment

Originally posted by fitch270 View Post