Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I have a Remington 870 Wingmaster. It is an older model, 20 gauge, with a full fixed choke. I got the gun for hunting squirrels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I have a Remington 870 Wingmaster. It is an older model, 20 gauge, with a full fixed choke. I got the gun for hunting squirrels

I have a Remington 870 Wingmaster. It is an older model, 20 gauge, with a full fixed choke. I got the gun for hunting squirrels and rabbits, but I would really like to start grouse hunting. From what I've heard a full choke wouldn't be the preferred choice, as it is too tight. Would you recommend sending the gun to a professional to have it opened up? If so what would be the best constriction? and who would you send it to?

You have a great grouse gun there.
    My choice would be a modified choke. That should be an inexpensive gunsmithing job, but you might have to bring it back if it fails to pattern correctly on paper.
    If the smith opens it up too much, you would probably have an improved cylinder, which is still okay.

Comment

I shoot one of them too. I wouldn't worry about changing it unless you expect to shoot skeet with it. Instead, learn to shoot it. With lead shot as used for upland game, a full choke is actually one of the best. That is because a lot of game is taken between 30 and 50 yards. If you are shooting grouse, quail, and pheasants, just let them fly out to about 30 yards before you shoot. For most upland game, getting this close is more of a challenge than occasionally letting them fly another 10 yards. The full choke and #4 shot will let you deck a grouse at 50 yards or more with no trouble. Depending on your conditions, you can shoot smaller shot. I just don't like to eat shot.

Comment

Ah git mah barrel work done at Wright's...

www.wrightsgunsmiths.com/wrightsgunsmiths_003.htm

Comment