Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am a college student and I would like to start trap shooting this summer. I would like to purchase a good quality used shotgu

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am a college student and I would like to start trap shooting this summer. I would like to purchase a good quality used shotgu

I am a college student and I would like to start trap shooting this summer. I would like to purchase a good quality used shotgun, instead of a cheap quality new one, but I really don't know what to get. My budget is under $700. Can anybody make a suggestion about what I should look for? Thanks.

Remington 870 Wingmaster Class Trap shotgun is a great choice. the 870 is a terrific shotgun. If not, might I recommend the Benelli SuperNova, or Nova Pump. These are HIGH QUALITY shotguns. you're best off buying the SuperNova, it'll perform better. It's under 600 dollars new. So I would recommend buying that one new. Benelli makes quality shotguns.

Comment

Reid gave some very good advice. One thing though a semi-automatic will dampen recoil which is a factor when you shoot 100 trap loads in a day. A good used Rem 1100 or 11-87 would work. You might even pick up a used Benelli. Also mossberg makes a nice O/U in your price range.

Comment

Exactly as Del said if you are going to do it semi pro or better, then you will be shooting 2-5 days a week and about 4 rounds a day. That's 100 shots either an 11-87 or a Browning Gold should fit the bill. Winchester SX II or III, you won't touch a Bennelli SBE for that price. Good luck and let us know how it turns out. Another route is a Ruger Red Lable if you want to go the O/U route.

Comment

Thanks everyone for your answers. Brad--Do you think I can get a Ruger Red Label for under 700?

Comment