Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hi everyone! I'm new to the sport and I was wondering which rifle was going to be my first. Is there a good recomendation from

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi everyone! I'm new to the sport and I was wondering which rifle was going to be my first. Is there a good recomendation from

Hi everyone! I'm new to the sport and I was wondering which rifle was going to be my first. Is there a good recomendation from any-of-you? My price range is $50-500 for now. (the only guns I have ever shot were bolt-actions) they were nice but I just wanted to know other opinions, thanks jay

jaysdragon

Firt I nned to know what part of the country you live in and the biggest critter your going after, deer, elk, moose and perhaps the most dangerous?

Comment

PS plan to spend at least $500

Comment

well besides bolt guns you have semi autos, lever actions , pumps, single shots, all have their place at different times or conditions. as far as calibers go you need to as clay said answer some questions first .

Comment

If you want a bolt-action rifle, the Weatherby Vanguard is a great rifle. I got mine(new) for $399. It comes in 15 different calibers.

Comment

Weatherby Vangard, Marlin XL7 and XS7, Savage 111.

Comment

Get one of the rifles Beekeeper mentioned above in .30-06 or 7mm Remington Magnum. You'll have everything but varmints covered.

Comment

Beekeeper and WA Mtnhunter gave you very good advice. Don't forget a good scope and good quality rings to hold it in place rock solid!

Comment

Marlin XS7, .308 or XL7 in .30-06, .270. or .25-06 - about 300.

Nikon Buckmasters scope - about 200.

After rings and mounts it will likely go over 500, but this is about as well as you can do, and it will be worth every penny.

Comment

Bight the bullet and get the Remington 700 in .308 or 30-06.

Comment

Ruger M77

Comment