Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Who here agrees with me that the Ruger M77 is a greatly under-appreciated rifle?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who here agrees with me that the Ruger M77 is a greatly under-appreciated rifle?

Who here agrees with me that the Ruger M77 is a greatly under-appreciated rifle?

I never had the 77, but did have the 77 Mk II left-hand in 30-06. It was a real tack driver.

Comment

I've got a 77 Ultralite in 30-06 that I bought new years ago. It shoots very well and I like it if a lot of walking is involved. I don't know that they are under appreciated but I have no experience with the later models of the 77.

Comment

I have a Ruger 77MK II Compact in 223R and one in 7mm/08R its a poor mans Win Mod/70.

Comment

My first center fire rifle was a tang safety M77 in 270. Killed a lot of deer with it.
          I still have it and it is the "family" rifle.
          My son has a newer M77 Ruger international. The bolt does not work as slick as my older gun, but it shoots well enough and is a great gun for the money.
          I have a great deal of appreciation for all things ruger.

Comment

Since it's release to the public, the M77 has been a "best buy for the buck".
            The original 77's straight stock made their magnum calibers uncomfortable to shoot. I had a .300 Win Mag that was absolutely vicious.
            A .22-250 amazed my father-in-law as he watched rabbits vaporize through the 12x Leupold....but he claimed it too "noisy" to shoot.

My favorite all time Ruger "rifle" is their No.1!

Comment

I have a 1976 vintage Ruger 77 in .257 Roberts and it has a nice piece of walnut for furniture and the action is very slick. It also shoots very well. There is nothing whatsoever to complain about with this rifle as evidenced by the fact it is still in my safe. I don't have any experience with the newer 77 Mk II and probably won't unless one drifts by at an extreme bargain.

Comment