Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

This is sort of a branch off question on my last one. What are the pros and cons of a .300 Winchester Magnum vs. a .300 Winchest

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This is sort of a branch off question on my last one. What are the pros and cons of a .300 Winchester Magnum vs. a .300 Winchest

This is sort of a branch off question on my last one. What are the pros and cons of a .300 Winchester Magnum vs. a .300 Winchester Short Magnum? Range, accuracy, velocity, whatever. The answers I got on my last question made me start to rethink my decision. I guess that is what this is for though.

I have heard some reloaders complain about the short neck on the .300 WinMag. Don't know about the WSM.

Comment

I have been reloading my 300WSM for several years, 7 I think and I have never had a problem with the short neck. The heaviest bullet I have loaded is a 180 grain bullet. I haven't done any long range shooting (400-500 yards) so I can't comment on that aspect of the question. My 300WSM is super accurate with 150 grain, 165 grain, and 180 grain bullets. According to the manuals the velocity is about the same on the two until you start getting up to the 200 grain and 220 grain bullets and then the 300 Win Mag has the edge.

Comment

Chewie

First, I have an affinity for off beat calibers.
        Second, I have absolutely NO use for a "magnum" anything.
        Third, I personally don't (won't?) shoot at any game animal at extended ranges.
        But that's just me.

Look into the ballistics of the .300 H&H Magnum.
        All the other 300 mags have belted cases simply because the shooting American public thinks a magnum requires a belted case. Not true!
        The .300 H&H Mag is the only 30 cal case that actually requires a belt!
        It's an old timer, but in modern rifles and modern propellants, it's a dandy!

Comment