Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking to buy a handgun when I become of age in a little while and with growing up in shotgun territory I have little knowledge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking to buy a handgun when I become of age in a little while and with growing up in shotgun territory I have little knowledge

Looking to buy a handgun when I become of age in a little while and with growing up in shotgun territory I have little knowledge about rifles/ammunition/etc. I want it to be big enough to hunt whitetail with it. If anybody has any tips as to what I should be looking for or any recommendations I'd appreciate it.

If you intend to hunt whitetail deer with it, I would suggest a .44 Magnum revolver, but be warned, the recoil and muzzle blast is rather severe.
    You would do well to test-fire one before you buy.

Comment

I would suggest .357. I have not fired one myself (I'm like you, in shotgun country), but many have said .357 has alot of recoil.

Comment

I would have to say .357 magnum my younger cousin shot a doe last season with my uncle's .357 magnum did the job well and he weighs about 100 lbs soaking wet if you practice often enough and learn the correct way to handle the firearm the recoil it has is completely manageable it really isn't that bad. Although a test fire is never a bad idea.

Comment

Nothing less than a .357 with a .41 magnum being much better. If you're thinking purely hunting, the Ruger Blackhawk is hard to beat.

Comment

Ditto~007 +1
            The 41/Magnum will do every thing that the 44/Magnum will DO...With-out the Muzzle Blast & Recoil, with the 175Gr Win/Silver tip ammo.
            I have taken many Deer from my T-Stand with in 35'with my Ruger Flat-top 5"Bbl. when they walk under or on the side of my stand.

Comment