No announcement yet.

nicest .22 ever made in your opinions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• nicest .22 ever made in your opinions?

nicest .22 ever made in your opinions?

Ruger 10/22!

Comment

Reid, No good answer because most shoot so damn well. I have an old Rem 572 pump that is the most accurate 22 I ever shot but my sons Marlin M60 auto is awfully good. Sometimes I think a 22 rifle is more finicky about ammo than a centerfire rifle.

Comment

This really is a subjective issue, a difficult question to answer because there are (were) some excellent .22 rimfire rifles and you're asking for the "pick of the litter". I offer opinions, not definitive answers, because there are many experienced shooters on this forum who will differ and they're opinions are every bit as valid as mine, but I suspect if there are sufficient responses, you'll see some repetition, some agreement, as well as a spectrum of other choices with which I have no experience (therefore, no opinion). In some cases, the rifles I mention may be found as used firearms because they're out of production.
        As far as bolt actions are concerned, the Anschutz 1416D, the Winchester Model 52, and the Ruger M77/22 are fine choices.
        Lever actions? The Marlin 39A, AS and Mountie are very good choices that have retained their value, and the Winchester 9422 is another very good choice.
        Autoloaders? There were many that are serviceable and reliable, but the Ruger Model 10/22 Deluxe Sporter was (is) a solid choice. It's well supported by Ruger's guarantee and by many aftermarket options. The reliable magazine fits flush with the stock (I find those protruding magazines an eyesore) and it is accurate, fun to shoot.
        My best experience with pump action .22s was a Remington 572. I have no criticism of it. I'm sure I could come up with other options if I take more time to consider it, but these are the first that come to mind.

Comment