Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am trying to decide what kind of broadhead to get. at the moment I am looking at the g5 montec, grim reaper razor tip, or slic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am trying to decide what kind of broadhead to get. at the moment I am looking at the g5 montec, grim reaper razor tip, or slic

I am trying to decide what kind of broadhead to get. at the moment I am looking at the g5 montec, grim reaper razor tip, or slick trick. If you have any experience with any of these I would appreciate the help. these will be for whitetails and my draw weight is 46 pounds.

I'm not an expert when it comes to archery, but I prefer a one piece head.
    What limited archery I do, I like the Montec G5. It's superb in my book.

Comment

the montecs and slick tricks are both great. Both are very solid and can punch through with little damage to the blades. However the montecs tend to run a lot more than the slick tricks. Here I see slicks at 29 and montecs in the 40s. My slick tricks shoot the same as my field points out to 60 yards and that is as far as I shoot no more pins after that. I put one through a javalina cleaned and resharpened it and then put it through an elk I then cleaned and resharpened it and no problems with the blades or the ferrell. The elk had huge holes on both sides of the chest. The broadhead broke two ribs going in took out the lungs and broke to ribs going out. I did not get a pass through but after breaking 4 ribs not sure what broadhead would pass through.

Comment

The montec is a great, durable broadhead. My brother took an elk with one this past saturday. The elk was quartering hard to him and he punched it barely behind the shoulder and it stuck in the rear hips cutting the femoral artery as well. Moral of the story after hitting all that bone the broadhead came out sharp and still in great shape!

Comment