Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why is it that spinning and even spincasting rods are used over baitcasters for big fish, like catfish and carp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why is it that spinning and even spincasting rods are used over baitcasters for big fish, like catfish and carp?

Why is it that spinning and even spincasting rods are used over baitcasters for big fish, like catfish and carp?

I've got a "big" spinning reel(auctualy 2) that I use for cats, and striper's here in Ark. but I'd say it's the "gearing" in the reels is why most are bait caster type.

Comment

Well, as the anti yuppie fisherman, I hate to say this, but price might have a lot to do with it. Go to wowmart and check out all the cheap catfish rigs with spinning and spincasting reels. If I was planning on catfishing for a living, I wouldn't have either. I would have a big baitcaster mega-crank reel like the ones used in saltwater or great lakes charters.

Comment

Those "cheap" one come on an "ugly Stick" rod and have worked well on cats up into the 40+ lb. range and a 36lb. striper 2 nights ago. Oh, we caught two cats that night too. One was 27 Lbs, the other was 19lbs. so.

Comment

I'm not saying they're bad. I'm saying they're cheap. I've owned and used Ugly Stiks and know they work well.

Comment

Bait casters are the strongest reals out there. If you are going for large fish and you don't want them to get away use a bait caster.

Comment

Big O, rather than snapping at Shane, how about you answer the question as to why you like it over a baitcaster.

I'm with rabbitpolice I use a baitcaster for muskie because they are stronger.

Comment