Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm a first time Bow Hunter and will hopefully be getting my First bow this year. What are some suggestions for breaking in a n

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a first time Bow Hunter and will hopefully be getting my First bow this year. What are some suggestions for breaking in a n

I'm a first time Bow Hunter and will hopefully be getting my First bow this year. What are some suggestions for breaking in a new bow shooting wise.

Lots of practice! Once you get comfortable shooting, put yourself in different hypathetical hunting situations and shoot from different angles and distances.

Comment

When I started shooting I had a bad pattern of about 5in. After about a month I had to stop shooting as much, I was spliting nocks and hitting fletching. So just stick with it, get to the range, and hit the woods!

Comment

First, buy good arrows, rest, sight, etc! I spent more on that stuff than the bow itself and have never regretted it. Crappy equipment yields poor results especially in archery. You can expect to pay upwards of $100.00 for a dozen arrows. They are worth it! Try not to cry when the first one gets lost or broken. It will make it much easier to take when the second and third disappear.
        Second, have it set up correctly by a reputable archery shop so you can be pretty confident that equipment issues are not causing you to shoot poorly.
        Third, do not try to shoot to0 much draw weight to start. You have plenty of time before hunting season. Have it set to a weight that you can draw relatively easily so you can learn good form before starting to crank it up.
        Fourth, practice, practice, practice. Do not forget to practice outdoors, in low light, in the wind and from elevated platforms or your stand if possible.