Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am new to fly fishing for trout. I recently completed a handmade fly rod I made in Sports Biology and I can't wait to try it o

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am new to fly fishing for trout. I recently completed a handmade fly rod I made in Sports Biology and I can't wait to try it o

I am new to fly fishing for trout. I recently completed a handmade fly rod I made in Sports Biology and I can't wait to try it out. Southeastern Minnesots has a winter trout season starting on January 1st so I'm looking to build an arsenal of winter flies by then. Does anyone fish the driftless area or know what kind of flies work well in the winter?

Certainly not dry flies this time of year. Most guys I know who fly fish during the winter in Montana use nymph patterns and fish them "on the swing" rather than stripping. Fish are too sluggish in winter to aggressively attack something that's moving fast. What species will you be fishing for? Hopefully rainbows. Browns are harder to catch in the best of conditions.

Comment

Actually, nymph patterns are typically fished on the swing ... streamer patterns or creature features are stripped. However, I did very well fishing freezing cold water in Alaska drifting a Thunder Creek pattern streamer. Usually better than the guys who were stripping it. Target species was trophy rainbows.

Comment

The trout in the streams around here are mostly browns. Rainbows are stocked here and there but don't get very big. Brookies are only in the small, prestine streams. I can find some water that has rainbows it in though pretty easily. Do dark nymph patterns work better than lighter ones? And does "on the swing" refer to letting the fly drift more that bringing it back?

Comment