Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm a college student who wants to get into fly fishing. Is there quality equipment out there that won't break my small bank?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a college student who wants to get into fly fishing. Is there quality equipment out there that won't break my small bank?

I'm a college student who wants to get into fly fishing. Is there quality equipment out there that won't break my small bank?

Go to cabela's.com and you can get a Three Forks fly rod for around 100 dollars.

Comment

I second that. Reddingtons are good mid range also.

Comment

Ooops. forgot St. Coix Imperials.

Comment

Go down to WalMart and get you a 20.00 fly rod. Get floating line. Put a little more money into a reel, that's where it counts.

Remember, the fish don't give a hoot about all the highbrowed intellectual talk concerning flyfishing. Think like a fish and read less.

Comment

Getting into it you dont have to break the bank....all of these are good suggestions, and you could always look around for some used stuff in your area on Craigslist

Comment

You can get everything you need at Wal-mart in a kit. It's made by orvis and has all the essentials for around 110.00

Comment

You might try the Sportsman's Guide for a reasonable fly rod. I just bought a 9' 4 piece Rivendell Graphite Fly Rod (11-lb.wt) for $39.97. I also bought a Scientific Angler Disc Drag Large Arbor reel (line size 7,8,9) for $27.97 at the Sierra Trading Post online. Both online sources have great satisfaction guarantees. I bought this outfit to keep in my truck while traveling so I havent had a chance to try it out yet. I intend to use it in salt water for redfish. The price is right, you might want to consider it.
                Chiefatk, Killeen, Tx

Comment