Top Ad

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

im just getting into fly fishing and want to know want to look for in a good trout rod (size, line weight, flies, etc) ill be fi

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• im just getting into fly fishing and want to know want to look for in a good trout rod (size, line weight, flies, etc) ill be fi

im just getting into fly fishing and want to know want to look for in a good trout rod (size, line weight, flies, etc) ill be fishing small streams in PA

Some will say that a lighter weight is better for you, but you will end up wanting to fish beyond these little streams, so get a 5 weight.

Comment

can't go wrong with a templefork, 4 pc, 8'6", 3 wt. and no this isn't a commercial.

Comment

I agree with shane - a 5wt. rod is probably the best rod you can have for all-around fishing. It will handle 10+ pound trout and 4" trout just the same. It is also much easier to learn how to cast than a 3wt. I would also suggest putting 6wt. line on the rod until you are comfortable with casting it. The heavier line will allow you to feel the rod better and it makes learning to cast a new rod a little easier, especially if you don't have any prior experience with a fly rod.

Comment

Don't spend too much money. Make sure you like it and can do it before you get crazy. I bought a $60 starter kid from Cabelas and I've used it for 2 years here in California streams and rivers in Alaska (for trout, not salmon) Its a 3 piece 6 weight. Depending on the size of fish you can plan accordingly from there.

Comment