Ice safety

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ice safety

Just want to throw out this small reminder for people ice fishing. I'v in the canals of lake St Clair was 5" +/- with this next week or 2 in the 40's.

3 days ago while on the phon behind my house, hit a bad spot and ended up going under the ice!!!

And I've been traversing the ice for 26 years,

Just remember to be carful out there during the best ice fishing time of the year

Last ice

Originally posted by The dick View Post
    Just want to throw out this small reminder for people ice fishing. I'v in the canals of lake St Clair was 5" +/- with this next week or 2 in the 40's.

3 days ago while on the phon behind my house, hit a bad spot and ended up going under the ice!!!

And I've been traversing the ice for 26 years,

Just remember to be carful out there during the best ice fishing time of the year

Last ice
    St Claire is bound to have quite a bit of current running through it which can also make for unexpected thin spots. On Lake Superior the current runs close to shore.

Comment

Originally posted by Ontario Honker Hunter View Post

St Claire is bound to have quite a bit of current running through it which can also make for unexpected thin spots. On Lake Superior the current runs close to shore.
      Yup, we got spots this year that haven't even frozen yet this year. Some spots the ice is sketchy. And other spots, I know of will be the last area with fishable ice. I'm going to keep chasing it, I can't not

Comment

Lots of currents in the Western Basin of Lake Erie around the Islands. I have never gone out without a guide. Conditions change by the day.

Comment

Originally posted by The dick View Post

Yup, we got spots this year that haven't even frozen yet this year. Some spots the ice is sketchy. And other spots, I know of will be the last area with fishable ice. I'm going to keep chasing it, I can't not