Fishing help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fishing help

Im new to fishing and was looking to buy a fishing rod. Im a bit confused about the lure weight and line weight. How can i tell whats the maximum weight of fish the rod will be able to handle before breaking

umar89, rods designed for freshwater use will handle a pretty good sized fish and are normally rated by "action".
    Light, medium and heavy.
    Just about any of them will handle 30 to 40 pound fish.
    I've caught 40 pound king salmon on heavy action rods.

Comment

Originally posted by FirstBubba View Post
      umar89, rods designed for freshwater use will handle a pretty good sized fish and are normally rated by "action".
      Light, medium and heavy.
      Just about any of them will handle 30 to 40 pound fish.
      I've caught 40 pound king salmon on heavy action rods.
      so the medium - heavy rods will act as medium and heavy depending on the line you use but if i use a line which is lower it will cause the line to break. Also what does line weight mean

Comment

Line weight is "tensile strength".
        That is, 20 pound test line will hold twenty pounds. That means the line will withstand 20 pounds of machine stress and really doesn't have anything to do with the weight of the fish you want to catch.

Rod flex plus the drag on the reel tire a fish pretty quickly.
        You can regularly catch fish much larger than the test strength of the line.
        Catching 30 to 40 pound king salmon on 20 pound test line is not unusual.

What kind of fish are you expecting to catch?

Comment